What changed your mind about university?

I always planned to go to university, but I got a job in a custom cabinetry company right after high school and really loved it. I was 24 when I finally went to university, and by then I realized I didn’t want it as bad as maybe I should. I was always thinking about when I could get back to a jobsite.

Did you know about apprenticeship?

How did your family react to your interest in the trades?

Honestly, I think it surprised them. My dad and uncle both work in the trades, but it really caught them off guard when I said, ‘hey, this is what I want to do.’

What made you decide to be an electrician?

What made you choose a trades career?

In high school, everybody seemed to be focused on university, but I knew that wasn’t what I wanted. Industrial Arts was my favourite class. My school had a program where students could tour job sites and talk to different tradespeople. I loved carpentry at school but I didn’t really like construction carpentry. Then I was introduced to bricklaying and I just fell in love with it.

What is it about bricklaying that appeals to you?

Did your parents push you toward the hair industry?

Because of who they are and what they do, they definitely had an influence, but they never said I should go this way or that. I knew that if I went into hairstyling, though, that I would want to work for them—it would have been too awkward otherwise. But I also knew I needed to find out if we could work together. As creative as I am, I like to know what I’m getting into. So, when I was 19 I spent a year working as a receptionist at their salon.

How did you know it was a good career fit?

What do you do?

I’m a licensed funeral director and embalmer.

Not a typical career, how did you get into that?

I was accepted into Kinesiology at the U of S straight from high school. Anatomy turned into my favourite class. I don’t know why, but it really interested me. That got me thinking about embalming, which got me thinking about other careers. I discovered the SIAST Funeral Service program, applied and was accepted for the fall 2007 term.

Did you have to move for school?

You had a promising hockey career, what made you choose university?

I come from a well-educated family. My mom is a retired social worker, my dad has two degrees and works at Cress Housing, my sister is a social worker and my brother is in medical school. Education was always a priority in our house. In high school, my goal was definitely to make the NHL – I tried out with the Philadelphia Flyers – but I knew university was for me. If hockey didn’t work out, I always wanted something to fall back on.

Why law?

What was the inspiration for Tansi Clothing?

I set it up when I was in my second year of Commerce. I saw an opportunity to promote the Aboriginal language through fashion. Tansi is Cree for hello. We created different designs of the word using Plains Cree syllabics and language, and put them on shirts. We just re-launched this past December with a whole new line of clothing, and designs in eight different languages: Cree, Métis, French, German, Inuktitut, Italian, Ojibwe and Punjabi.

Would you describe yourself as a businessman?

What made you want to be a journalist?

It was my dad who first planted the seed. He asked if I’d ever considered journalism, and the more I thought about it, the more I liked the idea. I’ve always been an avid reader, I love to write, I love talking with people, listening to their stories. It was a good fit. Also I’m half Saulteaux, and that part of my heritage was a driving force. I saw how little people really knew about the role First Nations played in shaping Canadian history; I wanted to contribute to people’s knowledge, to build bridges between cultures.

What do you do?

Lawrence: I’m executive director of the equestrian centre and certified facilitator for the Inspire Direction Equine Assisted Learning (IDEAL) program. I manage the One Arrow Equestrian Centre and provide the horse specialist knowledge in our equine assisted learning programs.

Koralie: I’m program director for the equestrian centre and IDEAL.

What kind education do you need for this?

What made you decide on a career in the trades?

I grew up on a ranch/farm near Central Butte, and I’ve spent my whole life working on machinery and doing carpentry. In high school, I did a work-ed program that involved afterschool work at the local John Deere dealership. I enjoyed it, so I decided to enrol in an agricultural technician apprenticeship program. I was accepted, but ended up going to British Columbia instead.

Was the experience worthwhile?